Taliban won’t join Moscow meeting on Afghanistan, Russian top official says


The Taliban Government will not participate in the meeting on Afghanistan to be held in Moscow, the special representative of the Russian President on Afghanistan, director of the Second Asia Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Zamir Kabulov said, Report informs via TASS.

The Moscow format was created in 2017 on the basis of the six-way consultation mechanism of the special representatives of Russia, Afghanistan, India, Iran, China and Pakistan. Its first meeting was held on April 14, 2017, with the participation of deputy ministers and special representatives of 11 countries – Russia, Afghanistan, India, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, China, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. The main goal of the format is to promote the process of national reconciliation in Afghanistan and to establish peace.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept