Cricket tournament kicks off in Pakistan-administered Kashmir

by Sami Burgaz
man in white pants and white jersey shirt playing baseball
National, international cricketers taking part in 10-day Kashmir Premier League.

ISLAMABAD (AA) – The Kashmir Premier League (KPL), a domestic T20 cricket tournament, began on Friday in Muzaffarabad, the capital city of Pakistan-administered Kashmir.

Several national and international cricket players are taking part in the league’s first edition aimed at promoting Kashmir globally, as well as nurturing local talent.

The event will also manifest Kashmir’s “alluring geography and culture” besides the promotion of sports in the region, the league said in a statement.

In the inaugural edition, six teams – Rawalakot Hawks, Kotli Lions, Mirpur Royals, Muzaffarabad Tigers, Overseas Warriors, and Bagh Stallions – will contest for ten days. The final match will be played on Aug. 17.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept