Russia sanctions 43 more Canadian citizens

Photo Credit: Anadolu Agency (AA)

Foreign Ministry says step taken in response to sanctions against senior management of Russian companies, their family members

In a retaliatory move, Russia on Monday imposed sanctions on 43 more Canadian citizens, barring them from entering the country.

In a statement, the Foreign Ministry said the step was taken in response to Canada’s sanctions against senior management of Russian companies and their family members.

Those sanctioned include federal and regional officials, members of the ruling Liberal Party, and public figures.

The total number of Canadian citizens barred from entering Russia on a permanent basis now stands at 701.

“In conditions when the ruling in Canada regime of Justin Trudeau stubbornly pursues a course of militant Russophobia, the Russian side reserves the right to take countermeasures in response to the openly hostile actions of Ottawa,” the ministry said.


Related posts

Putin addresses during celebrations in Moscow after Russia’s annexation of 4 Ukrainian regions

Putin signs decrees recognizing so-called independence of Kherson, Zaporizhzhia regions

Heads of 4 Ukrainian separatist regions to appeal to Putin on joining Russia