Montenegro declares 6 Russian diplomats persona non grata


Montenegro on Thursday announced that six Russian diplomats were declared persona non grata because they acted contrary to diplomatic relations between the two countries.

In a statement, the Foreign Ministry said the diplomats are working at the Russian Embassy in Montenegro’s capital Podgorica.

Montenegro earlier on Thursday announced that its police carried out an operation against criminal organizations and spies.

The operations were carried out on suspicion of the formation of a criminal organization and espionage.

“I owe a debt of gratitude to the Special State Prosecutor’s Office. An international operation is being carried out to protect our national interests,” said Montenegrin Prime Minister Dritan Abazovic.

Local media reports said the operations were aimed at Montenegrin citizens spying for Russia.



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept