Eurasian Economic Union Intergovernmental Council meeting held in Kyrgyzstan

by Sami Burgaz

CHOLPON ATA, KYRGYZSTAN – AUGUST 20: Eurasian Economic Union Intergovernmental Council meeting held in Kyrgyzstan ended on Friday (Aug. 20).

The meeting in Cholpon-Ata with the participation of the heads of government of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) member countries aims to free the movement of goods, services, capital, and labor between the member countries.

The meeting hosted by the Chairman of the Council of Ministers of Kyrgyzstan, Ulukbek Maripov, was attended by Belarusian Prime Minister Roman Golovchenko, Kazakhstan Prime Minister Askar Mamin, Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin, Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan, the Union’s observer countries Prime Minister of Uzbekistan Abdulla Aripov and Cuban Ambassador to Moscow Julio Garmendia Pena.

Ahead of the meeting at the Presidential Congress Center in the resort city of Cholpon-Ata, the heads of government of the EEU member states were received by the President of Kyrgyzstan, Sadir Caparov.

At the meeting held under the presidency of Kazakhstan Prime Minister Mamin, representatives talked about some issues such as vaccination of the population against the epidemic, institutional transparency, food price increase, investments, environmental problem, oil, energy, climate change, agriculture, drought, and reduction of greenhouse gas emissions.

The Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) is an economic union of states located in Eastern Europe, Western Asia, and Central Asia. The Treaty on the Eurasian Economic Union was signed on 29 May 2014 by the leaders of Belarus, Kazakhstan, and Russia, and came into force on 1 January 2015.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept